top of page
KEA News Banner.jpg

Volume 58, Issue 8

KEA distributes more than $50,000 in scholarships each year; that’s just one of the ways that we give back to members and families and support lifelong learning. Check out the scholarship descriptions below to see if you or a member of your family qualifies.
Applications in every category sponsored by KEA will open on November 1 and will close on January 31, 2023.

Go to to learn more. All scholarship recipients will be recognized at the 2023 KEA Delegate Assembly.

KEA Presidents’ Scholarships

KEA has 12 certified governance districts that span the entire state. Each year, every governance district awards scholarships to current Active
certified or ESP members in four different categories: Rank I (hours beyond Master’s); Rank II (Master’s); National Board Certification;
or continuing education or advanced certification for ESP members. Up to $1000 is available from KEA in each category, which means that there are 48 opportunities and $48,000 available every year. Committees in each governance district review the applications and determine the winners.


Representative Paul Mason Memorial Scholarship  

This scholarship is available to any active or retired KEA ESP member or their children or grandchildren. The scholarship is named after Rep. Mason, who used his service in the Kentucky House to champion the cause of those less fortunate. The scholarship is $500 and the KESPA Board of Directors reviews applications and determines the winner.

Marvin Dodson-Carl Perkins Scholarships  

Dodson-Perkins scholarships are awarded each year to members of KEA Aspiring Educators who are enrolled in a teacher preparation program in Kentucky. The KEA MOVE committee reviews and determines the winners. A total of $6,000 will be distributed, with the minimum award being $500 and the maximum being $1000.


Marnel Moorman Scholarship  

Named after the first African American president of KEA, the Marnel Moorman scholarship is available to high school seniors or college students who are seeking a degree in education. Winners are selected by the KEA Executive Committee based on the following criteria: demonstrated financial need; an expressed preference to enter the field of education; is an ethnic minority (not mandatory); is or will be a high school graduate; is seeking a first post-secondary degree; academic performance. The Moorman scholarship is $1000.

KEA-Retired Tom Denton Scholarship  

This scholarship is presented yearly to students who will be juniors, seniors, or MAT candidates in a Kentucky college for the following school year. Scholarship recipients will receive $800-$1,000 for one year. Preference is given to students who are KEA Aspiring Educator members, plan to teach in Kentucky, have an outstanding academic record, show evidence of financial need, and have family members who are members of KEA
or KEA-Retired. Receiving the KEA-Retired Scholarship does not limit the student from receiving other KEA-related scholarships. This scholarship has a different deadline than all other categories: the deadline for submission is January 10, 2023. Recipients will be selected by the KEA-Retired Selection Committee and will be notified of their award by mail by March 1, 2023. The scholarship will be presented at the KEA-Retired Annual
Meeting at the KEA Delegate Assembly in April. For applications and information contact KEA-Retired at or your
KEA Aspiring Educator staff person or local KEA office. Applications and documents may be mailed or hand-delivered to KEA-Retired,
401 Capital Ave., Frankfort, KY 40601, or emailed to:

KEA Award for Teaching Excellence

Deadline for nomination submissions is January 31, 2023

The KEA Award for Teaching Excellence, presented each year at the KEA Delegate Assembly, recognizes, rewards, and promotes excellence in teaching and advocacy for the profession.

Each year’s winner receives a $1,000, a commemorative award, and is automaticallynominated for the Horace Mann-NEA Foundation Award for Teaching Excellence.

All current active, certified members of KEA are eligible. Each KEA local affiliate may submit one nomination per year. Previous winners are not eligible to apply.

Applications open November 1, 2022. The deadline for nominations is January 31, 2023, at 5:00 p.m. (Eastern). More information about the award, eligibility, the nomination form, and nomination details can be found on the Members’ tab at, under Awards.

KEA ESP of the Year Award

Deadline for nomination submissions is January 31, 2023

The KEA Education Support Professional of the Year Award recognizes the contributions of ESP’s to our schools, our communities, and our


The award is presented each year at the KEA Delegate Assembly to a member of KEA who demonstrates outstanding accomplishments and reflects the contributions of ESP’s to our public education system. Each year’s winner receives $1,000, a commemorative award, and is automatically nominated for the NEA ESP of the Year Award.

To be eligible, the nominee must be an education support professional who is a current KEA member and has been a member for three years as of January 12, 2023.

Applications open November 1, 2022. The deadline to submit nominations is January 31, 2023. More information, including the nomination form and submission instructions, is available on the Members’ tab at, under Awards.

bottom of page